Stug 412 - What's in a number?

German weapons, vehicles and equipment 1919-1945.

Moderator: sniper1shot

Stransky
Supporter

Stug 412 - What's in a number?

Post by Stransky »

Hope someone can help me here.

I am no expert on vehicles but I have a private photo of a Stug with a turret number of 412. Can anyone tell me if its possible to determine anything interesting from the number? For example, is it possible to find a record for this individual vehicle based on this number??

The year should be 1944, unit should be Pz Lehr Regt.

Grateful for any help!
I had no part in it!
Christoph Awender
Patron

Post by Christoph Awender »

Hello

The numbers on vehicles have a certain meaning within the unit
In this case (three digit system) it would be
4 = Kompanie (Company)
1 = Zug or Batterie (PLatoon or battery)
2 = Vehicle number within the platoon

So the Stug you see is Vehicle number 2 in the 1st platoon of the 4th Company.

\Christoph
Martin Block
Enthusiast

Post by Martin Block »

Hello Stransky,

if we're talking about the Pz.Lehr-Rgt. 130 of the Pz.Lehr-Div. I'm afraid it's hardly possible that your photo shows a StuG of that unit. Usually the 1. - 4. Kp. formed the I. Abteilung (battalion) of a Pz.Rgt. and in case of the Pz.Lehr-Division the attached I./Pz.Rgt. 6 (replacing the yet non-existing I./130 for most parts of 1944) was equipped with the Pz. V Panther.

It could also not have belonged for instance to Pz.Jg.Lehr-Abt. 130 because that unit had only 3 companies and was equipped with other types of AFVs anyway.

During the first half of 1944 the were StuG in the attached Pz.Kp.(Fkl.) 316 but they did not form part of the I. Abt./Pz.Rgt. and as far as can be established (see M. Jaugitz, Funklenkpanzer) carried no 'turret numbers' at all.

Martin Block
Jan-Hendrik
Patron

Post by Jan-Hendrik »

Hi, Stewart, that's: